Brunch @ The Mad Batter, Cape May, NJ

Ahhh brunch, the most bourgeoisie of meals. As pretty much everyone knows, brunch or the meal combining breakfast and lunch is an amazing thing. In the traditional sense, it should be on a Sunday at around 10:30. It should be long enough after you wake up, assuming you wake up like a normal person for a normal work day before 9 am. That you don’t have to rush out of bed, but late enough that once you start, you could skip lunch. I, in my infinite desire to enjoy brunch as long as possible, like to push it closer to 11 am. But these are petty details, especially if what you are eating pushes the normal boundaries of delicious.

Tucked away in Cape May, NJ, among the B&Bs and excessively pale tourists, innumerable bike shops, and victorian architecture, is a brunch spot that my parents have been going to since I was a little kid. When I was very small, My dad worked weeks that could be 80 hours or more. In fact, I have one memory from when I was a kid in which he worked straight from Monday till Thursday and when he came home late Thursday night I was told not to bother him and he slept all Friday. But my dad always made sure to spend time with his family on the weekend. My mom told me that they loved to go to Cape May because it was far enough away that they could go for the day and make a day trip out of it, but close enough that if there was an emergency my dad could be back in an hour. One of their favorite brunch spots at the time; The Mad Batter.

IMG_2161

The Mad Batter is located inside the Carroll Villa Hotel on Jackson St. which has been open since 1882. During the summer the outdoor seating area which is located right on the street is beautiful and packed. Because of this, I advise that you make a reservation because the worst thing to happen is to have brunch become lunch because you forgot to make a reservation. Their brunch menu is well put together with classics like Belgium waffles and pancakes, there are Eggs Benedict and Corned Beef Hash and there are even some good vegetarian options like a vegan BLT, tofu tostadas, and a tofu scramble. But With a name like “Mad Batter” I knew the right decision would be to have something battered.

I had to order the Thick Sliced Orange & Almond French Toast which called my name in clear defiance of my distaste for sweet foods. If ever there was a time to say that French Toast made me swoon, it was now. It is made with nice thick slices of brioche dipped in a batter of eggs, cream, and orange juice and topped with powdered sugar and sliced almonds. It was a great combination of sweet and bit savory. I really don’t like sweet things but this was just perfect. My brunch partner for today ordered the Chesapeake Bay Benedict which was really just a crab benedict, but it was really good! I love benedicts but I am wary of crab benedicts because they are usually overpriced and kinda simple, but this was really good. It wasn’t just crab meat either, it was big pieces of crab meat with a really smooth and perfectly seasoned hollandaise sauce. The little touch that got me were the capers. Little bites of salty in the creamy sauce and crabmeat made this for some next level Benedict. Their house potatoes are a seasoned (I think Old Bay) potato and pepper mix that will really fill you up. I mean, do you really need to be filled up like a balloon? No. Are they fucking delicious? Yes. You’re an adult, you can make your own decisions on whether or not to eat them, but If you don’t eat them, don’t get mad when I or someone else does. Just fair warning.

The little touch that got me were the capers. Little bites of salty in the creamy sauce and crabmeat made this for some next level Benedict. Their house potatoes are a seasoned (I think Old Bay) potato and pepper mix that will really fill you up. I mean, do you really need to be filled up like a balloon? No. Are they fucking delicious? Yes. You’re an adult, you can make your own decisions on whether or not to eat them, but If you don’t eat them, don’t get mad when I or someone else does. Just fair warning.

IMG_2160.jpg

For drinks, we got a Batter Bloody Mary and a Peach Sangria which was the house sangria for the day. I love Bloody Marys but I hate premade Bloody Mary mix. Here, they actually make their own Bloody Mary Mix with Absolut Pepper! Fucking score! Ok, the breakdown; we sat on their porch and got to people watch, had two very large cocktails, and got to try their Benedict and their glorious battered french toast. Afterward, we walked around the area and rented bikes. The weather never peaked above 85 and there was a light wind coming off the ocean. It was an amazing day and I have no doubt that this solid brunch, which held us off until our 7pm dinner, was the reason why. Oh brunch, you are so wonderful. If you have the time, or even if you don’t think you will, try to make time to have brunch once a week. You don’t need to go out, but simply making some time to eat and have an early drink with a friend can really go a long way, both in your peace of mind and in your friendships. Enjoy the warm weather while it lasts and most of all, enjoy what you eat! if you got some suggestions on where else we should look for a satisfying and delicious brunch! For a shout out on our social media accounts, send us a tip of where your favorite brunch place is and we’ll make sure to tag you!




When you see something delicious, it doesn’t mean you can’t make it or find something better. Sometimes it’s easier than you think. Want to see more? like this post and hit subscribe! Don’t forget to check out our other social media accounts and comment below!

Check out and LIKE our Facebook page to keep updated on our newest posts @https://www.facebook.com/DevourFoodandRecipes/

You can also find me on Instagram @devourfoodrecipes if you want to see some more of my delicious food-based escapades

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

