Bacon, Egg & Cheese Burger w/ Sour Cream And Scallion Mak & Cheese @ Lucky’s Last Chance, Manyunk

September 2015. Philadelphia. Manayunk. I woke up in my hometown of Margate, just south of Atlantic City and with two bloodshot eyes and a WaWa coffee being my only sustenance, my sister and I drove to Manayunk to meet friends for what I was promised to be a very delicious and alcohol provided brunch before the complete and utter insanity that was day #2 of the 2015 Made In America Music festival in Philadelphia. I was originally not meant to go, but when my sister surprised me with a ticket and some of my friends from college said they were also going, I happily agreed to attend. The festival itself could be described as three days of music, sweat, dehydration, dancing, poor time management, $8 water bottles, $5 Budweiser tall-boys (yes! the beer was cheaper than the water!)

I was originally not meant to go, but when my sister surprised me with a ticket and some of my friends from college said they were also going so I very happily agreed to attend. The festival itself could be described as three days of music, sweat, dehydration, dancing, poor time management, $8 water bottles, $5 Budweiser tall-boys (yes! the beer was cheaper than the water!) more dancing, the smell of blunts, woman in cultural inappropriate Native American headdresses and complete fucking insanity. It was amazing. But this blog isn’t about that.

The morning of day #2 was planned as followed:
9am: Meet at Lucky’s Last Chance in Manayunk for sustenance because we decided as a group to not eat at the festival because it’s too expensive.
10am: Have pre-festival drinks at my friend’s apartment in Manayunk and take the train to the festival in central Philly.
11am: Arrive at the Festival and rage until midnight at which point we will drive back to Atlantic City.

One of those things happened correctly. We met did meet at Lucky’s, but everything else did not happen the way it was planned and I am glad it didn’t because I will never, ever, ever… have a story quite like that day.

I was suggested Lucky’s by a friend of mine in our group, Hannah, who is a close friend of mine from college and is now in medical school in Philly. I, three fraternity brothers, my sister, Hannah, Tamaki (also from school) and 2 others joined us for this brunch and It was amazing. I was advised to order a burger and one of their “maks” which is their mac & cheese. For the burger, I chose the “Bacon, Egg & Cheese Burger” which they explained as being “brinner” because it’s not quite breakfast and not quite brinner, but I assumed that the bacon, egg, and cheese combo would settle my earlier uneasiness and satisfy me. I also ordered some Sour Cream Mak & Cheese which featured some chives and I added some black pepper. It. was. fucking. amazing.

The burger itself was perfectly medium (as I asked for, which I am always surprised about because when I order a medium burger from other places I usually get it bloody as an operating room or overcooked and dry. Thanks for getting it perfect guys!). The egg was also perfectly cooked; a light press on the bun resulted in a perfectly warm and gooey yolk to run down the side. Bacon was nice and crispy and the cheese was melted on the burger and not simply put on the burger. This is actually a big deal in my book because when you order a burger and the cheese is cold it creates condensation to appear on the cheese which ruins everything around it. Melted cheese ftw on this already amazing burger. The mak was super creamy and the chives added a great subtle flavor that really gave the sour cream the kick in the pants to make it from good to great. Overall I was really impressed with such a perfectly made and simple combo. Granted, It was very fatty and carb laden, but I was planning on eating until well after midnight and I needed enough energy to support the impending rageing that I was planning on doing during the Action Bronson set (shoutout to Bam Bam, shoutout to Big Body Bes)

20150906_115819

My sister did not order the burger because she is still a vegetarian. However, She did order the Jalapeno Mak and said it was delicious but ate all of it before I could snap a picture. She ordered the Banana Foster French Toast. Much like the rest of today, it was fucking amazing. Topped with deliciously rich whipped cream, 6 pieces of french toast laid topped with bananas and syrup. It was beautiful. Mary assured me it was amazing and the one bite I was allowed confirmed my assumptions.

20150906_120157.jpg

In summation, the festival was amazing and the breakfast before was delicious and enough to sustain me all day. I am really glad we ended up going here even if our initial plans didn’t go as well as planned. Finding places like this are always fun and exciting especially because they do what they do so well.


When you see something delicious, it doesn’t mean you can’t make it or find something better. Sometimes it’s easier than you think. Want to see more? like this post and hit subscribe! Don’t forget to check out our other social media accounts and comment below!

Check out and LIKE our Facebook page to keep updated on our newest posts @https://www.facebook.com/DevourFoodandRecipes/

You can also find me on Instagram @ DanGlass1/2Full if you want to see some more of my delicious food-based escapades

Leave a Reply

