Avocado Toast w/ Apple Cider Vinegar Poached Eggs

The key to a good day is a good breakfast. Everyone has heard this since when they were a kid. I think we take for granted sometimes our dreary bowl of cereal or a lonely cup of coffee as our only breakfast. And if you’re the yoga-attending, spandex-wearing, wine drunk at 4pm kinda person reading this, your Starbuck’s venti nonfat mocha latte with caramel drizzle is not only not breakfast, it’s not healthy. AND WEARING STRETCHY PNTS AND NEON SNEAKERS WHILE YOU DO IT IS NOT CONSIDERED “GOING TO THE GYM”. You know who you are. I can shamefully admit though that I often opt for the sole cup of coffee, a splash of milk and sweetener, as my entire breakfast. But let me explain.

As a recent college graduate, I feel like I am just the right amount of (extremely) obnoxious to level with the cool kids as I can correct adults on why their generation ruined the housing market (different story, different time) so let me break down the benefits of the sole cup of coffee for breakfast. I’m tired, fuck off.

Now that that is all cleared up. I totally get the whole coffee for breakfast, I don’t blame anyone for it. Those who are not morning people (not me, I AM a morning person, but when you’re up till 2 studying, being awake before noon is a still a chore) I concede how making a nice big breakfast that is full of nutrients and good stuff just seems like a nightmare. I mean, who wants to do dishes, clean veggies, and cook eggs and so on. But what I think we often forget is what people like Michael Pollan, author of In Defense of Food, who said that we can eat everything we want, as long as we cook it. For more info check out this HuffPost article

I think this is an important piece of information that we often forget. Consider the picture to my left (or below). It’s beautiful. Eggs, avocado, toast, some gravlax (salt cured salmon, aka lox) and seasoning. But, the gravlax was made this past weekend with a 48 hour cure, and the bread is a homemade (reduced-gluten) oat bread, the avocados and radishes are from my local produce shop, the eggs are cage free, and the Sumac is sourced through Kalustyan’s in New York which to me means that the source that is reputable. By using good ingredients rather than using store bought things made in factories that use excessive chemicals and fillers, you are making something that is more wholesome and feels better.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

To make something like this, you only need to layer. The parts are interchangeable so you can make whatever you like. For me, always use an interesting hearty bread, poached eggs, avocados, and radishes. Those 4 ingredients are a staple to me. But you could obviously use any kind of bread, any kind of cooked eggs, and any kind of veggies. For the way I do it, check out the recipe below.



Avocado Toast w/ Apple Cider Vinegar Poached Eggs

  • 2 Slices of Oat Bread
  • Sour Cream (creme fraiche or cream cheese are acceptable substitutes)
  • 1 Avocado (flowered)
  • 1 radish, sliced as thin as possible
  • 2 eggs, poached
  • 4 slim slices of gravlax
  • pine nuts
  • olive oil
  • salt, pepper, sumac, sesame seeds
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  1. Toast your slices of Oat Bread and set aside. Prepare the avocado flower and set aside.
  2. Bring a pot of water with a large splash of apple cider vinegar to just under a boil. Swirl the water and gently drop the eggs in the water and gently swirl the water making sure to not break the yolk and not let the water come to a boil. Doing so will risk breaking the egg and/or overcooking. After 4-5 minutes (depending on the desired egg-runniness) use a slotted spoon to remove the egg from the water and place on a plate with some paper towel and let sit.
  3. Plate a shmear of some sour cream on your toast and gently place your avocado flower in the center. Trim the excess egg white and place over the center of the egg.
  4. Dress the egg with pieces of gravlax, radish, olive oil, salt, pepper, sumac, sesame seeds, and pine nuts.

IMG_2205.JPG

I really like this dish for breakfast. Not only is it delicious, nutritious and beautiful, but the ingredients are wholesome. By using quality ingredients, you increase the overall goodness of this dish 10 fold. Even though this is not scientific, I like to think that by eating things that are sourced well, made well, and not filled with chemicals, we feel better and that’s what really counts.


When you see something delicious, it doesn’t mean you can’t make it or find something better. Sometimes it’s easier than you think. Want to see more? like this post and hit subscribe! Don’t forget to check out our other social media accounts and comment below!

Check out and LIKE our Facebook page to keep updated on our newest posts @https://www.facebook.com/DevourFoodandRecipes/

You can also find me on Instagram @ DanGlass1/2Full if you want to see some more of my delicious food-based escapades

Leave a Reply

