Burgers @ Trackside Station, East Stroudsburg

On one of my excursions up to the Poconos to visit my friend and occasional trouble making companion, Nalin, we ventured out toward East Stroudsburg for a place for lunch. All morning we had been working up a hunger by driving around the local mountain roads. There is a good way of saying that and an accurate way of saying that, so let’s just say we went the speed limit and not ask questions.

By noon, we were hungry. If you ever met either of us, we are big guys, when we get hungry we tend to lean toward hangry, and when we are hangry, you don’t want to be our friend. SO we aired on the safe side and let our hunger decide lunch which we both agreed should be a burger. At this moment, Nalin says, “hey! I know a great place near where I go to school!” I followed his advice and we wound up in East Stroudsburg.

The place we arrived at is Trackside Station Grill and Bar which is located alongside the train tracks that run through the town. When we walked in, I recognized quickly that this sports bar probably gets a lot of people in. Multiple TVs, a huge bar, large windows facing the train and lots of room. I mean, the dining area was pretty big. In retrospect, I think it was that the food was a projection of the space. We perused the menu to find sports bar favorites, some of which given railroad themed names such as “derailed wings” and “smokestack mac [and cheese]”. The menu was large and had a large starter list, some flatbreads, salads, burgers, sandwiches and large plates.

We made a B-line right for the burger section and looked in hungry awe at our options. Every once in a while, I find a burger place that goes out of their way to make an outright American-sized portion of food. Most burger places do in fact make a large burger and don’t skimp on toppings, but this place brought did not disappoint.

I ordered the “Downtown Burger” which has a grilled 8oz steak burger, topped with cheddar cheese, sautéed mushrooms, & frizzled onions, with our original bourbon BBQ sauce, served on a toasted brioche bun. I expected a big burger and that’s exactly what I got. This place is not gourmet. You won’t find it on Michelin’s list, you won’t find hipsters with mustaches and wool hats (even though its fucking summer), instead, you will find this place with real people. The guys you go to work with come here to watch football and have a beer. Your kids go here before the movies. The high school cheerleading team comes here after the big game. That being the case, the food is exactly what it should be; delicious.

I asked for my burger medium-well and got it with the perfect amount of pink. The cheese had a perfect amount of melt. The onion straws were still hot which means they made them to order. The BBQ didn’t taste like anything special, but then again, why should it; I just wanted a good burger, I didn’t come here expecting them to revolutionize “the burger”. I think when you review food, you need to keep in mind the intention of the chef and the intended audience. The audience here isn’t expecting gourmet, there expecting food for regular people. This place just does it damn well.

IMG_1190.JPG

Nalin decided to go with the “Eastburger”. The moment I saw it on the menu, I thought I was going to have a heart attack. It was a big, fucking, burger. It contained two 8oz Black Angus burgers, a grilled cheese sandwich center, layers of lettuce, tomato, & beer battered onion rings, on a pretzel bun, served with house made honey mustard. Nalin opted for the side of fries. A solid choice my friend, a very solid choice.

IMG_1186

Burgers like this are why the Europeans think we are dumb. Burgers like this are why over 9% of Americans have diabetes. Burgers like this are why we can’t have nice things!… And yet, burgers like this are exactly what make America so god damn amazing! When someone in the food world says, “hey, you can’t do that! that’s insane! it doesn’t make any sense! two patties? and a grilled cheese in the middle? topped with onion rings? WHAT ARE YOU THINKING!?!” The other person can respond, “Yea, well fuck you anyways!” When someone challenges your decision to make, order and consumer a burger like this, you become Randy Marsh from South Park and respond, “Oh, I’m Sorry, I Thought This Was America!”

I love places like this because even though what I’m consuming is unhealthy, the restaurant isn’t trying to tell me to stop. They recognize that when something is delicious, and someone will eat it, it’s not their job to judge. Instead, they indulge you. While I definitely don’t recommend ordering something like this more than once in an ever, it certainly is nice to see people making something delicious and amazing simply because they can.


When you see something delicious, it doesn’t mean you can’t make it or find something better. Sometimes it’s easier than you think. Want to see more? like this post and hit subscribe! Don’t forget to check out our other social media accounts and comment below!

Check out and LIKE our Facebook page to keep updated on our newest posts @https://www.facebook.com/DevourFoodandRecipes/

You can also find me on Instagram @ DanGlass1/2Full if you want to see some more of my delicious food-based escapades

Leave a Reply

